The painted miniature books (6)

My (probable) favorite portrait of this series has to be what is also one of Christie’s greatest: The Murder of Roger Ackroyd. I don’t doubt that it turned out better largely because the area I had to work with for the portrait was bigger and therefore could hold more detail. But there is also the fact that there were So. Many. Great. Shots. to choose from. There’s a great deal of light/dark contrast and some wonderfully dramatic-looking sets. I chose the iconic moment when Poirot obtains the soaked journal in the steaming factory. The atmosphere of the scene is just fantastic.

My photos are always dreadful, so I must apologize for problems there. The quote on the back of the book was, I think, one of the longest I painted.

But just to prove to you my dilemmas with this project, I present a series of images that I considered for the book cover before ultimately rejecting them and going with the above. Any one of them would probably have worked. I’d still really love to paint the one in the bottom right-hand corner. What lighting!!!
rogerackroydrejected

Leave a Reply

